Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

eachers are the building blocks of future of a society that is "youth of the nation". A teacher is always praised for his/her selfless behaviour and a dedication to plant seeds of knowledge within children. It is our prime duty to appreciate and boost the confidence of teachers by rewarding them or by appraisal for their deeds. Instead of this, if teachers will be paid according to the performance of student's in academics, it would cast a negative impression upon this profession altogether.

Every student has his or her own capability to study and to grasp information which is being taught to him/her. Teachers' role is to guide and enlighten the right path and to motivate the student so as they perform well in all phases of life. I we take an example of two teachers' who are equally putting their equal efforts towards two different children supposedly. If the first student is an erudite scholar and is pretty much resolute to succeed, certainly he would be scoring good in his exams. On the contrary if a second student is very sluggish, lathargic and reserved, unable to express his areas of difficulty to the teacher and is not much determined to score good, he would comparably get lesser marks than the first student. Now if we follow the principal of paying teacher's according to the student's performances, it would be an injustice done to the second tutor, as he paid his equal time, attention and devotion as the first one. So, this rule should not be applied as such.

At some extent, I do agree with the author that if the salaries will be based upon student's performance, every teacher would actually add more of his effort and this arduous behaviour will lead to better student performances anyhow. But the whole of the salary should not be based upon this fact. Instead there should be some incentives provided to teachers' which should be based upon such monitoring.

Additionally, It would be better if there are some laws or norms of awards or incentives provided to teachers' on the basis of their student's performance, which should be apart from their monthly salary. This would keep them boosted to teach well and will also aid in better performances of student's.

Conclusively, i wold like to say that the student teacher relationship is a pious one. It should not be make with selfish intentions as it would affect the harmony of work place. Although, it is the duty of teachers' to be skilled and up to date with the new teaching pattern and concepts, but evaluating their performance according to student's score would be an injustice to all those teachers' who are genuinely good and are adding the best of their potential to this field.