There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts -- especially at a great cost in money and jobs -- to save endangered animal or plant species.

Society undergo various changes over time in order to meet current standard of living or to meet the future expectation's. Society have witnessed changes like racism, feminism, caste and many more which were need in order to implement some ideology or to prevent discrimination between the communities or even gender's. Society should always try to make sure not to damage other's or defame in order to increase standard of living, or even earning money.

First is the example of Tesla, the trillion dollar electric vehicle company, which tried it's best to revolutionise the transport industry by developing electric vehicle against convectional diesel or petrol vehicle's. Vehicle's manufactured by Tesla produces almost zero amount of pollution and saves other's like human being from inhaling toxic gases, keeping environment cool and implicitly helping animal's and birds in leaving their life peacefully. What if we never tried to lower pollution by any means, it would have affected everyone living on earth.

Second is the example of Brazil, which encompasses world's largest rainforest. Brazilian Government is allowing foreign investor's and local's to exploit it's forest in order to improve the living of people and gradual increase in countries development. But by exploiting we are exploiting not only the largest source of oxygen but also the habitat of animal's and plant's. The animal's wont be able to find food in limited environment, so they will threaten human being living in outskirt's of forest which in return will kill them. This not only disturb the natural cycle but also ensure the inability to recover it.

Third is the example of the China, one of the leading economy in the world. China is approbated for their economic growth and also criticised for their inappropriate use of nature. China is largest carbon producer in the world, carbon gas which is responsible for the global warming. The more carbon we produce more global warming it encourage, even after being the leading country, China choose 2070 as the year to go carbon neutral.

I do not completely agree with the statement that there is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts -- especially at a great cost in money and jobs -- to save endangered animal or plant species. There are some government's and private institutions which are working in order to prevent some species from getting extinct like white rhino's, while some government's and institution's are working for their own benefit. What one should compromise in order to save other totally depends on the person's, government's and parties mindset. Some work hard to improve their standard of living without harming other's while some improve by endangering other's.