True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Success is a thing which all of us dream to acheive. The defination of successful person vary from individual to individuals. The main component which one need to have to be successful in his life is a goal. Goal is a state of life when achieved, the person seems he is successful in his life. So i completely agree with the claim that true success is only measured in terms of goal set for oneself. Every individual must have goal in his life. Without a goal or a dream that individual's life is a waste. Goals must be set based on the potential of any individual. In setting a life's goal individual must take following points in consideration.

Firstly, Goal should never be set below the potential of a individual. If a person is setting his goal for less than his potential thinking that this can be achieved very easily with seldom amount of hard work. He is making a very big mistake. Let's take a hypothetical situation of a student stuying in school. He is a very brilliant student but lazy too. His true potential is to score 80% in exams. But he only aims 65% thinking that this is more than enough. Thus won't be giving his 100% at time of studies. So having this approach in life will never make anyone a successful person.

Secondly, The person while setting a goal must not overestimate himself. If he overestimate himself he will his goal too high then his own potential. This will not only fail that person from achieving that goal, might also depressed that person. For example a mountaineer who have not even tried climbing a small mountain and directly aim to climb Everest will surely fail. So one must have a realistic goal. Yes everyone can dream beyond their potential and should strive hard to achieve that but should have a goal with in the limits of his potential.

So, people need to understand that to be successful in one's life one should have a realistic goal. Underestimating or overestimating themselves will never help them to be successful in their life. People should also take help of experts and counsellors before setting their goals. True advice can also help a lot in being successful.