To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Cities are the most diverse areas of the world with people belonging to numerous traditions, cultures, ethnicity, backgrounds etc. Cities are the main centers of trade and hence comprises of people from all various locations. Cities are always known for its diversity and large population. That is the reason why cities provide a very strong view of the characteristics of a society.

Cities comprise of people from various location and along with them, these people bring in their culture and tradition, as a result the cities develop into a model of the country or the state as a whole. For example, India consists of extremely diverse people, with completely different tradition, culture, foods, lifestyles, even festivals. Therefore it becomes difficult to survey every single region within that huge country where the population is about 1.5 billion, but the country’s capital, New Delhi acts as a model to depict the whole country. In New Delhi people from all the corners of the world are found. These people even celebrate their own festivals, keep to their own tradition and culture. New Delhi, hence can be studied to know the actual characteristics of India.

Cities, as consist of a large population, will be convenient to draw out a more reliable data. A study based on survey need more and more data and since cities are capable of providing a huge number of people belonging to various backgrounds, can be considered an ideal spot to take forward such study.

One may argue that city’s culture normally tends to change. Yes, culture tends to change as a measure to adaptability but the change in culture can rarely affect the characteristic of a society. Characteristics of a society are linked to the living style, beliefs that people follow, people’s likings, their nature etc.

In conclusion, societies are created by people and to study society one will have to study people from each and every culture, tradition and background. Therefore, I believe cities put forward a concise as well as the pragmatic model of the whole nation and to study about characteristics of a society cities can be considered best ideal location.