To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The statement holds true for the fact that to understand various culture and tradition of a country or society, one must study its major cities. The major cities gives a glimpse of cultural heritage of the society. It is quite evident that the major cities of the country or society hold a historical importance. When someone goes deep inside the history of major cities, it unveils the true stories and also the myths about the tradition, lifestyle and the culture.

For example: Major cities in Rajasthan, India, like Jaisalmer, Udaipur, etc. has so many historical tales as well as defined reasons about the culture and tradition being followed. The people staying in those cities have also inculcated such values in their daily chores. The infrastructures of such cities provide evident details of people who used to stay there. The food habits and the languages also give the information about the society. Festivals celebrated in such cities are also taken into consideration which has a key role in shaping of society. But it is not necessary that all the major cities are of history importance and gives characteristics of the society. There are cities having no importance and characteristics of society at all but are major due to the large geographical area that it occupies.

These cities have old as well as new settled parts. When one goes meandering then they are sure to find many astonishing things related to the place. From the establishment of the city to its destruction or inhabitation the city itself speaks the glory of its survival. The older the city the more stories buried inside it. Apart from historical importance the characteristic of society is also based on the business and work culture that it follows. Cities like New York are more of modern characteristic of society whereas Washington D.C holds historic as well political importance.

Major cities have varied culture and different societies. Society that is rational on basis of caste, color and sometimes economic status as well. Likewise there are societies that show no discrimination on basis of caste, gender, color or any other factor. The people who stay in those cities define the characteristics of their society. In a metropolitan cities which are also the major cities people have migrated in inhabited from various small town and distant areas which now form a society which gives plethora of culture and tradition that were not a part of those societies a decade back.

Major cities may or may not define and give information about the characteristics of the societies. If small towns and villages are to be considered they would give a genuine characteristic of the society which is still preserved by the people.