To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Any major city is the epicenter of its culture and values in the world for which it is known. Each community comprises of its own practices, rituals, charecteristics, etc. In order to understand any of these characteristics one could definitely study these big cities but, also it is not completely true and appropriate. I am in partial disagreement with the above statement.

Cities such as New York, New Delhi, Milan, Madrid, etc, are the the nexus of their communities. They represent different cultures and attributes of the country they are situated in. Exploring them further gives us knowledge about the place, its history and its evolution, which relates and edifies us substantial characteristics of that place. For instance, Milan is a city reknown for “Fashion” in the world. Delving more into its culture and history makes it obstrusive of its feature.

However, people at distinct places have dissimilar traits and features who then combine to form a society. As these major cities had developed into global mecca, people of different countries reside in each of them. Thus, to only study a major city in order to understand the features of that community is not that much significant. All these major cities are approximately same in many aspects, say mordernization, infrastructure, lifestyle, etc. Due to these ubiquitous factors which could be observed in each of these cities, makes it difficult to study about its conventional culture and values.

For instance, New York is the city in the USA where the society consists of Chinese, Indians, Africans, Americans, Japanese, etc. The presence of people from plethora of communities from around the world in these cities clouds us and makes it abstruse to know more about the orthodox attributes of the society as they knowingly or unknowingly also infuse culture and characteristics of their homeland.Whereas, while studying the whole community offers us the exact traits of that community.

Finally to conclude I reiterate, that only major cities are not solely responsible for the characteristics prevailing in it, rather whole community and country defines the real essence and features of the society.