To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author makes this assertion that for understanding the characteristics of a society one must study its influential or major cities. The author makes a practical note but it is hard for me to wholeheartedly agree with the author. For me it depends on the society that we are talking about.

A society’s major economic and federal decisions are made in its major cities. If we need to know the position of a society- be it economic or government, we must target its major cities for information. Take New York, or Washington DC. These two cities are the economic and federal wheels respectively for the United States. If any graduate student want to write a thesis about America’s fiscal policy or foreign policy, he or she has to study these two cities and some other major cities. But the scenario is different if that student targets to study India. The major cities of India; Delhi or Mumbai; are surely affluent. These cities are running on metro, superfluous with shopping malls and cineplexes. But they do not represent India’s actual economy which is one of the most important characteristic for any society. While Delhi is bathing with fluroscent lights, a major part of India is lighting candles, not concerned about education, and 40 percent of its people are living below the poverty line. Although it is very casual for a Delhi boy to marry someone out of his religion, a boy from other part of India can not imagine to violate his culture. If the student wants to study the major characteristics of India, he can not get the whole picture by only studying its major cities; he has to target other not-so-major cities to.

As I have said before that which cities should we study to understand a society depends on the society itself. Paris has been the heart of culture of France. If anyone wants to understand the culture of France, roaming around the roads of Paris will give the same information as other French cities would do. But if we again take the example of India again, only looking at the popular culture of Mumbai will not represent the cultural characteristic of India. Mumbai might represent something similar to the United States. People there go to nightclubs and discos, party late. But most of the people of India are more attached to their traditional and religious festivals than late night parties. So to study the essence of Indian culture, targeting Mumbai would not be sufficient.

One might argue that the major cities are diverse, it includes people from the society’s sub-society also. It represents a wholistic characteristic of the society. I do not disagree with that. I agree that major cities play a major role in describing the society’s stature. And studying that should be a concern for studying the society. But what I want to say is that they should not be our only concern. Singapore might represent the actual characteristic for their society, but for a larger society like India, it might not be the same. Along with major cities, one should also consider the other cities too to understand the the representative characteristic of that society.