To understand the most important characteristics of society, one must study its major cities.

The statement's primary goal is to research in society. It means it contains all kind of activities to study and try to characterise it. So, I agree with the assertion that to understand the characteristics of society, major cities can play important role in your research work. Research is the only thing that can improve our society efficiently (Its about understanding the characteristics of a society and nothing about improvement or efficiency has been mentioned).

One of the great reason (reasons) behind to study (studying) major cities is their population. Population growth is always high in cities. That means the more resource to study and the more resource can get accurate result. High population provides different kinds of society which related to different kinds of religion. Every religion has its own speciality and uniqueness. There are various numbers of societies in major cities which can be used as a base to understand characteristics.

Other reason behind to study major cities is high education. Education ratio is high compare to normal cities in major cities which indirectly effect the research. Educated people can easily communicate with researcher work. So, research work can more accurate and get speed to characterise it. For example, In India kerala (the state of Kerala) has high education ratio compare to other states thats why more different kinds of researcher work is done in it compare to other ones. Education ratio can be play an important role in research.

Major cities have one greater factor is their facilities. Facilities in major cities are always more compare to other cities which helps to improve the study. Due to different kind of facilities researcher work can be speed up. Major cities are always helpful in any kind of research which related to different purpose. For example, If I have to study on gujarati people related to India. So, First of all I choose Gujarat State to understand them quickly and than I choose to do research in Ahmedabad city in which I can full feel my any kind of requirements related to my research work. (The sentences are incomplete) Ahmedabad is one of the major city (cities) in Gujarat which has more than 50 million people. Due to this kind of population I get more resource. So, I will meet different kind of gujarati people and try to understand their culture.

I can get how they celebrate their festivals, how they enjoy their life, how they work together, how they faces the problems etc. These whole information I can get only from Ahmedabad. Result to this, I can get conclusion very quickly.

Research in major cities is not too difficult but there might be some obstacles which can interrupt the research. For example, To characterise society that means study the private life of people which can be aberrant (wrong usage) for them. People can deny to communicate with us because of their privacy.I t can impact major on research. But there is also a positive side that many people can communicate or open up to researcher for making their society better and better.

In sum, To characterise any kind of society, we have to study or research major cities. There might be many factors which can improve research or characterise the society. So, I completely agree with the assertion that to characterise any kind of society, study on major cities is necessary because of their highly educational ratio, high population growth and etc. and with the help of it we can improve our society.