To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Understanding the important characteristics of a society is a pivotal study, required to describe and analyze the society and its present and future impacts. This topic raises the issue whether it is necessary to study the major cities where the society under study, is prevalent, and if it will give some valuable outputs or not. Although, a society is not marked by its major cities, a society is self-sufficient and even if it present in minority, the inherited characteristics will sustain. Nevertheless, if we study their major cities, it would be easy to observe and study the characteristics of that particular society.

First of all, major cities imply the majority population of the individuals of society under consideration, making their way of life almost ubiquitous in that area. I would like to point out that if in any city, there are majority people from one particular society, they will follow their customs and traditions in more positive form, as it will be acknowledged, participated and followed by others too.

To illustrate, let us look at the example of Leh, a city in India, where majority population is of Buddhists. The place is in the state of Jammu and Kashmir, which has majority of Hindus and Muslims, this city stand outs for the fact that it is inherited by Budhhists. The monasteries, the culture, the behavior, is way too different from other nearby cities. In all areas, one can discern the chants, the mindfulness, and the other very innate characteristics of Budhhists. Hence, it is pretty obvious, since it is one of the major cities of Monks, one can understand the attributes belonging to them by simply visiting this city.

In conclusion, although there are many other ways to perceive the features of a particular society, this by far is the most blatant and agreeable way to do so. As long as societies continue to practice their traditions in their habitat, this conclusion will hold true.