To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Even though people within a society have many things in common, their opinions and lifestyles may differ. Large societies especially, will have internal conflicts on how to run the government and its social values. Even though major cities are influential, many more important characteristics of a society lie within the small cities and villages

Compared to major cities like New York or Beijing, the surrounding smaller cities seem insignificant. But in total, small cities are where the majority of the population live. There are numerously more small cities then there are major ones, providing a much wider and comprehensive insight into their society. Visiting the major cities will only expose you to few varied groups of individuals that due to their close proximity, share similar ideas and lifestyles. This would only provide a narrow impression on chinese society and reduce China’s extemporaneous history to a simple line. To be exposed to the full range you need to visit the multiple groups of people that share large range of views and lifestyles.

A society’s complexities and roots do not lie in its major cities but in the lifestyles of the surrounding villages and small cities. Here you can learn about what created and supported the modern social values seen in the large cities. The enormous foundation that built the infrastructure and lifestyle that define the society as a whole. You can explore the ancient wars and hardship the people have endured. You can experience the values that shape the lives which hold it dear.

There is an argument to be made that cities have a large population density. This would expose you to many people and allow you to get an overall feel for what the society values. With most major cities, there a subpopulation of different people that would give you a range the opinions and culture within the society.

If it is your desire is to truly understand a society, then small cities provide the largest and deepest understanding of that society.