To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim that to understand the most important characteristic of a society, one must study its major cities doesn't seems to be cogent. A society can be very diverse, different people, humongous cultures scattered in its different cities. Thus, simply studying the major cities will not be very helpful in giving a pellucid view to its important characterstics.

Consider, for example, India is a very diverse country having several major cities and at the same time myriad of people living in rural and other small region as well. People living in rural and urban areas have completely different lifestyle, customs and standards. For instance, rural people are mostly engaged in the agricultural sector. They are the ones who generally prefers to stay close to nature along the riverside or a place full of greenery and spent their entire life there only. These people are not some tech savvy people that one would usually see in the urban areas; where one can see technology as an indispensable thing for their living. Not only this, people living in urban are more decorous in their living standards. So, if one just extrapolates from the facts obtained from the major cities only, then the characteristics drawn for a particular society will not be complete, for sure.

To support further, society is amalgam of people of various different cultures, scattered in different parts of the country. Analysis cannot be simply drawn by just from few major cities. It may be possible that only a specific community is occupying majority of the important cities. In such case, it is vivid that drawing inferences by studying will not give a well-rounded result.

In addition, to understand a society is an arduous task. It requires a going into the abyss depth of understanding different people, different community and understanding their customs, rituals, living style etc. Thus, it demands be done diligently, meticulously; which one cannot achieve by going to few major cities but by meeting and understanding various people, various places, no matter how small or large they are, whether they are in the list of major cities or small rural area.

To sum up, inferences drawn from the major cities may provide a superficial glimpse of a society but it is in no way complete. If one really wants to be cognizant of the important characteristics then there is much more that is needed.