To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Major cities around the world have been developed with an intention to create a utopian society where every individual can prosper. This novel intention has naturally attracted large populations to settle in and around these cities with every person aspiring to make it big. This facilitates a plethora of cultures to meet in a single society.

A cross-section of this diverse population gives us an idea of the most important characteristics of the human society.

To give a native example from my country, I would like to mention the city ‘Bangalore’ where I was brought up throughout my childhood. Bangalore is one of the most important metropolitan cities in India and an important Information Technology hub. It is commonly referred to as the ‘Silicon Valley of India’. The humungous IT industry has wooed an assortment of people from different states and backgrounds from around the country.

My class at school had students from about 15 different states each with different cultural and social characteristics. My opinion is that , when you have such a diversified population , the database you study from the major cities is bound to reflect upon the entire society.

This example is similar to the analogy between sample and population in statistics. A quantity or quality derived from a sample is used to extrapolate to a the population ; provided the sample is chosen appropriately with equal representation from all sections of the population.

Major cities act like an ideal sample and hence can give us an idea of the important characteristics of the entire society.

This extrapolation can be achieved only when you consider major cities and not towns or villages as the database that you work on is more homogenous and endemic to that particular town or village.