Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

University education is one of the fruitful part of a person’s life where he will be exposed to the world full of opportunities. This can at the same time be confounding to a student. University should take the role of guiding them in these testing times. The above claim of universities requiring students to take additional courses is not possible under all circumstances and it has many unanswered questions.

For one thing, it may not be feasible for many to take courses outside their university. The constraints can be something like money and time. University in itself is an expensive affair and is hardly affordable by many students, so it would be stretching it too far to ask them take outside courses. Some of the students may be working part time to take care of their university fees, which makes it that much harder for them.

Secondly, it also increases their workload. They may already find it difficult to cope with the university syllabus. So, it is by no means fair to make them take those extra courses. Student may find it difficult to juggle between many things, which may lead to depression and other severe mental problems.

On the other hand, if a student is from a well-to-do background and is capable and wanting to learn an additional course. Then the college may encourage him to do them. Some of the people may want different courses that may help them in their own, like for example, a person studying economics may be researching in the field of Indian Economy on 19th century British Raj, he might want to take a course on Indian history to help in this research.

Students come to university with a particular major in mind. So it is by no means prudent for the universities to impose additional courses on students that may never use in their life and that will waste their hard earned tuition fee. But universities may encourage capable students to take outside courses but they should not force them.