Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

For a student, it is easier to achieve success in a field which he is interested. Yet, from various reasons which will be covered shortly, there is a strong advantage in requiring a student to study fields outside their interests. In that light, universities should require their students to take courses in fields that they do not find interesting.

The role of universites is not only to produce workers for the modern society, it is more significant than that. Universities are the main mean to educate beyound the highschool level to anyone that goes to study and enters its gates. If universities would only were made to produce professional work force, they would be a huge over-kill. But the idea of university is to produce the "enlighted" person. And that was the idea ever since it was invented in ancient Greece. By letting student stay in their comfort zone which is narrow for most of the student we may produce a lesser light inside each student. That is a better approach will be to expose the students to fields that are not in their own interest. And thus, to ensure their education.

Another important issue that rises from this topic is of to keep a standard level of education. To verify that each student have some basic knowledge in all fields of modern society we must include some topics from each field. Making sure that the students will make effort and be exposed and ace the basic of writing an essay is important for any student. Not only for the students of humanities. Making sure a student can calculate and respect the aesthetics of math is important for student outside the Math department.

It is true that the success of most students will be greater in their fields of interest. They might find it easier to grasp context and connect ideas. They also may gane better and more relevant tools for their career. Nevertheless, in their future work they will havue to deal with issues that are outside of their interest. Learning to deal with such cases is important skill that could be aquired in the university. So that could serve as an additional advantage for a student who straggle to study a topic outside her interest.

To conclude, from all the reasons discussed in the essay, it is most wisely for the universities to keep a standard level of courses that cover the basics that is required from a university graduate.