As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious

Some college students claim that after learning knowledge in college, they find them more confused to the knowledge they previously took for granted. However, they finds what they learned in high schools becamre more comprehsible as they grew to the senior. In contrast, I believe that acquisition of knowledge will help people to comprehend the world easily.

Take math courses of high school for example. When caclulating the area of a circle, teachers are used to directly saying the formula without any explanation, or demonstrating the concept of slicing a circle into small pieces and adding all of the areas of tiny rectangles. Students may call into a question why the summation of tiny pieces of rectangles can correctly approximate to the area of a circle. In fact, it is the concept of calculus, a rudimentary course in colleges. Only acuqiring the whole system calculus students will think what their teachers said about the area of a circle is reasonable and has mathematical reasoning instead of a formula without detailed explanation. Aparts from circular areas, a myriad of phenomenons can be accurately modeled by calculus. As the result, the more advanced knowledge of mathematics students acquire, the more phenomenons can be specifically described and understood.

Some students may argue that the more knowledge they learn, the less comprehensible they are. For example, they learn that humans are rational, which means they will choose to maximize their own benefits, in economic textbooks. However, under the recession of economy, tons of unreasonable investors dumps their securities, such as shares of stocks and bonds, to the public market at fairly low price smashing the price mechanism of markets. The phenomenon is at odds with the principles of economy and investors won't increase but seriously damage their benefits. Therefore, they found that knowledge they acquire from textbooks is inconsistent with the real world conditions and things are more confusing.

However, the reason why they have the misconception of acquisition of knowledge is that textbooks usually make a lot of assumptions simplifying the conditions and restrictions to let students directly understand the knowledge without considerations of complex factors. And the world is definitely complicated with or without our knowledge about the world. Many events are interdependent with each other and it may not exist a original event that started to affect other events. A reasoning process that usually starts from a reason and ends with a result may not applied to understand the operations of the world.

To conclude, knowledge is the accumulation of how predecessors understood the world, which is sometimes limited under certain restrictions and relys on predetermined assumptions. Acqusition of knowledge will help people understand the world in the way of predecessors and the world will be more comprehensible. As for something confusing is the responsibility of comtemporary to figure out the explanations.