"We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

The issue statement says that people learn more from the views they share them rather than from whose view that contradict their own. As the human is the social being, and lives in society where exchange of customs and values takes place that chnage one's personality. I do agree with the authors statement but upto some extent, because there are many cases where this statement cannot be applied. My view point is described as follows;

Firstly, the man being a social being lives in the society where the people with different beliefs and ideas exist. Not everyone can have the same thinking and perception level. For example some people are in favor of child marriage while others are not. Many ideas are same between two people that means that idea will be promoted more as both do agree with that, and the idea works properly that will help in well being and better development of the society.

Secondly, as the man interacts with the other people in the society with different ideas and values there will be chances of contradiction, as in muslims killing of a cow is their custom but for hindus cow is a holy animal. But if we take the example in case of erudites, it is not true that the from one with different point of thinking we will not learn anything because everyone have different cognitive powers. For example in case of chemistry or any other science subject two people performing same experiment but in different ways, one with easy and other with difficult in this even though views of both are different. But both will learn something from each other.

Last but not the least, it does not depend more on view whether contradicting or similar it depends on the person whether he wants to learn or not . For example, in case of orthodox people it is very difficult to convince them about any new technology because they don't have the will power to learn anything new. Even if it is better than their one they still prefer to stick on their own. But in some cases orthodoxy is good too.

In the last i restate that, people learn more from the views share rather than from those we contradict. Moreover, it depends on the person whether he want a change or not. Too much of the orthodoxy is not good because it will lead you behind from other people in this world of modernization.