"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning."

There is no doubt that discussing ideas is beneficial for us. Many people share each other’s ideas in order to analyze it and increase their knowledge. Although the statement mentioned in the question is not thoroughly wrong, I am, to a great extent, on the belief that sharing contradictory views is not as disadvantageous as the statement might impose to the readers. To clarify, the number of people who take a specific side is not always equally distributed among the two groups which contradict or support our idea. This illustrates that each person takes a side based on the process of thinking and conclusion. Therefore, the opposite views don’t attempt to impede learning although they bring about stress.

Suppose the case of presidential election in each country that two candidates often have more chance comparing to the others to win the election. What if people exchange their knowledge of these two candidates despite their contradictory beliefs? Some might think that such discussion is fruitless because the followers of each side do their best to defend their popular candidate. Note that this debate becomes harsh as the scale of the issue gets larger. It is true that these discussions lead to some kinds of stress but the advantages of this type of talk take precedence over this feeling. The main reason that justifies my view is that individuals can recognize whether they have exaggerated specific characteristic of their popular candidate by listening to the contradictory views and possibly draw conclusion from disagreeable views.

Another compelling issue that highlights the difference between persuasive and contradictory ideas is that no one has ever improved by listening to his favorable sides that he often shares. It is not feasible to learn more by always holding the same side since continuous agreements ossifies thinking. While some people prefer to incline to a specific side, the others are eager to challenge the contradictory view to omit wrong ideas or correct their mistakes. It has been said for many years that people who don’t impugn their surrounding facts would never be able to accomplish a great task. For instance, scholars and erudite physicists such as Albert Einstein used to be flooded with lots of opposite point of views; however, he thought about all aspects of such opposing views in order to build his theories based on trustful facts. As a result, individuals must consider contradictory views as well as agreeable ones to assure themselves whether a particular issue is genius or not. It should be emphasized that, holding contradictory views solely are not beneficial but the summation of agreeable and opposing views is more promising.

In sum, although this question is controversial and hard to reach a consensus, as far as I am concerned, analyzing the contradictory views is essential for improving the current side in which we are as well as learning from them.