We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

The author in the issue states that we can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own. The author implies that two people, sharing common views can learn more from each other than the people who share contrasting views. I disagree with the author's views as there are many points that oppose the integrity of the statement. I will comply my views in the succeeding paragraph.

Initially, people share different point of view based upon different aspects and considerations. A person thinks that his views are strong unless he finds an evidence that undermines his assumption. Two persons sharing contradcitory views have their own assumptions regarding an event and eventually when they put forward their own views, they think about the integrity of contradcitory views and can change their mind if it seems more credible. In addition, by putting forth their views, they can even find the fallacy in their assumptions and hence can acknowledge it.

Moreover, when a person who is mistaken in his assumptions welcomes the contradictory ideas, it helps in correcting his misinterpretation. Now, I might present an example to support my stand. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a well known cricketer in today's time, was a football lover in his childhood. One day, the cricket coach of his school was impressed by his goal keeping and asked him if he wants to join the school cricket team as a wicket keeper, but Dhoni refused the offer as he hated cricket. His coach convinced him to play cricket and then he found out that Dhoni was a good batsman too alongwith being a good wicket keeper. And today, Dhoni is the captain of the Indian Cricket Team.

Hence, it is evident from the above example that people can learn from the contrasting views. However, people sharing the same views can learn more than those sharing opposing views. The author's statement is seemingly true for people resembling to same fields. For example, a cricket player cannot learn strategies from a soccer player, or an engineering student cannot learn principles of engineering from a medical student. However, there are multiple reasons that refute the author's statement.

Considering the above discussion, I affirm that we can learn more from people sharing contradictory views than people sharing same views.