The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

The well-being of a society is established by a well-functioning government authority. However, sometimes these authorities fail to satisfy all the requirements of the citizens or these needs are neglected. In such situations, the society has to stand to maintain the well-being and to get their demands fulfilled by the authority. The society has a right to question authority and thus, it should use it whenever there is a lack of satisfactory work from the authority.

Citizens vote and elect their representatives of the community because they believe that such authorities have capabilities to solve their issues. If such authority fails to address public issues, people will question. For example, if the current public transport is not sufficient to meet the needs of growing population, citizens will have problems to travel around the city. It is the responsibility of the authority to increase the number of public transportations and improve the infrastructure. The governments will only understand the importance and the urgency when people start questioning them. Thus, it helps to restore the lost well-being of a society.

Furthermore, even when government has taken all the necessary steps to enhance the well-being, sometimes people’s queries are missed or unaddressed due to lack of required resources. For instance, during the recent outbreak of Ebola virus in Africa, countries had provided healthcare to people as much as possible but due to lack of qualified doctors and advanced medicines, they were unable to control the outbreak. Thus, even though people expect that the authority should always be responsible to maintain well-being, they should also understand certain limitations. On such occasions, people should work with government and should find a common ground to the problem.

In summary, it is important to question the authority whenever there is a situation of public issue that is not being addressed efficiently. On the other hand, it is equally important for both the society and the authority to work in harmony to find a common ground and derive a salubrious solution to the complications.