The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

A Society is a community that revolves around "social interaction" between people and their leaders. Thus, I agree with the speaker that well being of a society is enhanced only when its people question the authority as a society is bound to fail if people blindly follow their leaders or government , as no leader can always make the right choices and may take some wrong actions. So, people should question the authority in such cases so that the authorities can learn from their mistakes and mend their ways.

A society needs both a good leader as well as public consensus of the leader and his actions.For instance,we can look at the example of James Buchanan, 15th American president who was an effective leader but during the time of civil war failed miserably in taking the right decisions and as a result led America to a downfall in overall economic market and thus was questioned and henceforth replaced by Abraham Lincoln, who became the 16th American president and led a America through the most difficult times and set it to a right path.If people in this kept following Buchanan blindly, America's future would have been jeopardized.So, sometimes when the leader and government prove to be ineffective ,people should question them and even if needed replace them.

But this might not be the case every time as no leader and can always make the most favorable decisions as sometimes they might need a little more time and support from the people before delivering a good outcome.For instance, it took many years for Mahatma Gandhi before actually he was successful in his agenda of freeing India from British rule. This was only possible because people stood by his side and supported him throughout.

So finally, to sum up in my opinion it is important in a society for people to question their authority but sometimes they need to have faith in their leaders ,as failure is a part of upcoming success. So it is important for people to understand and connect with their leader so that they can understand his motives and stand by his side.So a balance must be maintained as to a attain and progressive and developing society.