The well­being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People in power are often endowed with the responsibility of looking after the welfare of their society. This case is more true in case of politicians who are elected by the people,for the people. Many a times it is seen that once coming into power these representatives often forget the promises they made and do not perform the duties assigned to them properly. Coming into power and gaining authority gives them the freedom of exploiting the powers they have with them for personal gains. This altogether leads to them deviating from the main course with nobody keeping a check on their activities.

When people start questioning, it makes the authorities more vigilant and careful about the actions they undertake. This is particularly useful to prevent and stop corruption among various departments of the ruling authority. For instance: A certain locality of a city does not get proper supply of water.Unless or until the people complain and question the concerned authorities, how will the problem be sorted?Or if a person suspects that there is lot of bribery happening in a certain department of an organisation, he/she can always question the authorities. This would not only make them more careful but could also help reduce those cases further.

With more and more countries opting for democracy, people are given right to information. This right helps them to know anything about any government organisation or about any political figure. They can also use this right to know where the funds collected as taxes are being used or if they are used at all or not. These sort of things helps the citizens and members of the society keep a check on the authorities. Not only such actions help run a society or community smoothly but efficiently too. More work would be done for their betterment, be it any field : medical, roads, schools or providing basic amenities such as electricity and water etc.

In schools, a teacher’s duty is to keep an eye on their pupils and to guide them to a right path. They do so for the welfare of their students, to give them a better future. Keeping a check on whether they complete their homework or how good they are performing in sports or other activities helps the child be more sincere and remain dedicated. This very basis applies to the society as a whole too where their role is to act like a teacher, just to make sure that the people in power do what they ought to. This helps them keep on track.