When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you

The author state that the development of old buildings has the priority over thier preservation when planners think that these buildings could be better used for modern purpose. Due to the controversary of this topic, there is not a general arguement. I am, however, to a great extent, againt this statement for the following reasons.

For on thing, the most valuable part of old building is not its modern usage but its historic functions like showing us how our ancestors thought about the relationship between human life and the natrual environment, telling us the story about how our society evolves. If we blindly develop and reconstruct these buildings before appropriately preservation, we will destroy the records of our culture and cut the link to our past. For example, in early years of the Nation of People Repubilc China, our leaders thought that we should put development at the first place. For this reason, a lot of old buildings in Beijing were destroyed and replaced by endless factories. Today, all those factories have gone leaving us pity that we could no more experience the rich history anymore.

For another, most of the development of these historic buildings are irreveratble. That how the old building can be better used is objective and temporary, but the destruction to the olding buildings are permenent. Even though the new usage is modern today, it will outdated in a few decade and it will be impossible for our descendents to recovere this olding buildings. In this case, what we should learn is that modern usage is temporary and nothing compared with the vunerability and permenent value of the old buildings.

However, preseravtion and development are not exclusive. What we should do is not simply developing or preseving their orginal status but to find a new way to combine both of them. Again, take the Forbidden City in Beijing as an exmaple, in a contrary way. Today, people are paying more and more attention to presevere the Forbidden City, like introducing bycles for visitors while prohibiting cars, and removing all the lights in the halls to avoid fire. At the same time, the workers, have setted a lot of fixed chairs and printed a bunch of brochures for visitors. These measurements not only persevere the Palace but also advertise its value to more people, conveying the essence of our traditional culture in modern society.

For the reasons and examples above, we can conclude preservation and development are not incomptible. However, when there is confiction, presrvation other than development should be put on the first place.