Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author reckons that instead of short-term fame, long-term goals help people flourish in their life. The credo expressed here seems to be plausible after first glance, but after putting it under higher level of scrutiny, the fragmental behavior of the statement can be established. Setting up the long-term goals and following them is undoubtedly beneficial to succeed as it provides a person with qualities like patience, time scheduling, focus etc. which subsequently helps grow as an individual. But it has its own positives and negatives which we can go through in later paragraphs.

First, pursuing long-term and realistic goals can't always guarantee success. In the era of mobilization, the only constant entity is "Change". Whatever is trending today, might be insipid tomorrow. In such cases striving for success considering long-term goals may backfire. In the early 20th century, due to technological development, the jobs of engineer were labelled as a standard and safe choice. Therefore, people started shifting towards different fields in engineering such as electrical, civil, mechanical and computer engineering. Soon after that in 2008, we saw the drastic event of recession because of the flooding of candidates pursuing the same areas. Almost 10% of people in developed countries like US, UK, Singapore lost their jobs within 1 year after recession. This serves as a paragon rejecting the claim that long-term ambitions might result in atrocious situations.

Furthermore, we can't refute the claim that short-term goals are not favorable. The goal pursued diligently and with right approach, although short-term, may lead to success. There are some areas where short-term recognition and fame plays a humongous part in deciding the fate of a person. In the field of cricket, we have seen some players who debuted when they were merely 16-17 years of age such as Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara. They started their career at a very early stage in their life, kept practicing and pushing themselves with a positive intent and achieved greatness. The game of chess has witnessed a player Magnus Carlsen, who started playing chess when he was 12. He played in various tournaments across the world and went on to winning several titles. As of now, he has more than 10 titles on his name, including winner of Under-12 Chess Championship and International World Champion. These individuals also get looked up by other people in the society and motivate them to become auspicious.

All in all, long-term and realistic goals may help people by developing amazing qualities which lead to success. But through the aforementioned examples, we can't state that short-term achievements hinder the growth. In my opinion, goals being short-term and long-term doesn't actually matter. It is the nature of an individual and the approach taken to achieve the ambition that decides the destiny. If a person establishes a goal and pursues it by putting all the efforts, success and recognition are inevitable.