car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past three years that many cities in the world are now one big jam.

how true do you think this statement is?

what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the last three decades, big cities have suffered from traffic jams. The main reason for believing this is that car ownership has increased rapidly. A growing number of people uphold a view that many industrialized cities are now one big traffic jam all over the world. I drastically agree with this point of view. In this essay, I am going to support my opinion with examples and suggest certain solutions to this issue.

To begin with, more people, notably teenagers are in favor of having a car. Such kind of people tend to get a driving license in a short while, and buy a car. Despite the fact that private cars can bring more advantages to people, the amount of cars results in traffic congestion which is one of the major issues in big cities in the world. There are often traffic jams on roads, especially during the rush hours. In addition to this, the effect of the number of cars can be hazardous. What I mean by this is that, it is undeniable that exhaust gases from different types of transport, such as buses, taxis are released to air. The proportion of cars can increase the level of air pollution.

On the other hand, the given problem can tackled in some ways. For instance, cutting the ticket prices can encourage people to utilize public transport. Secondly, governments should limit the private cars in the center of cities.

To sum up, private cars are supposed to bring convenience to people, in fact, the proportion of them results in serious problems. However, measures are available to solve this issue.