Children should study other language, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

Some people argue that parents are supposed to encourage children to learn other countries' language at primary school. While some adverse effects which probably may impact to children also must be considered. In my opinion, i would be in the same boat as the statement because it will give more benefit to children. The reasons will be discussed below.

To begin with, we cannot deny that too early learning other countries' language would lead children confusing and wasting time. Studies have shown that adolescents and adults are in many ways better at learning language than children, except in the area of pronunciation. This is probably because they are already literate in their first language and can use some of their knowledge about language and language learning when they learn the second language. Moreover, in this age, children still have other subject which is more important than learning foreign language, such as math and their first language.

However, instead of aforementioned evidence, I am sure that the benefits of encouraging children to learn foreign language in primary school is much more than that drawback. Firstly, it will benefit children's development because children is taught a new knowledge of other countries. According to research that conducted in Canada with young children shows that those who are bilingual develop the concept of "object permanence" at an earlier age. Another also says that learning foreign language in an exercise in cognitive problem solving and all of these can lead children to have a better academic achievement. Secondly, in this age, children will learn language faster. Martha G. Abott, Director of Education for the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Language (ACTFL) says that young learner have a nature curiosity about learning which is evident when they engage in learning a new language and possess the capacity to develop near native-like pronunciation and intonation.

To put it in short, it seems clear to me that learning foreign language for children at primary school is a way to guide children to have bright live when they grow up. Parents should pay more attentions toward this issue.