Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is certainly true to say that TV is the most popular entertainment tool in today's life. Presently, a proportion of people believe that television has negative impact on social relationships. While others contradict with this opinion. Here, I would like to account for both the views with my own perception.

Multifarious points shore up the former view. First and foremost, in the past, the family were gathered around dinner table talking, discussing, laughing and so on, nowadays this habit is disappearing due to the television. Every member in the family prefers to watch TV instead of communicating and speaking. Moreover, children are spending long time watching TV. In fact, children are tempted by cartoons show, video games, so they spend hours watching TV instead of playing outdoor and exercising. As a result of that, they are at risk of health problems such as obesity, social withdrawal and so on.

On the other hand, there are good reasons why some people disagree with the above opinion. Firstly, they consider TV as an entertainment tool. In our fast paced life, many of us are working for several hours in the day, thus, relaxing at the end of long working day worthwhile and television is the choice for many people to relax and enjoy. Secondly, some TV shows are lucrative in society. To be specific, many of debated issues and problems in the community are solved when addressed in TV show. The famous example of this is Oprah Winfrey show, which was well known all over the world.

To recapitulate, both the views have their own significance. We can neither support nor go against either of sides. But, still, I believe that it is true that, TV has some drawbacks, it continues to be a source of joy and amusement for many people.