Due to large demand of energy sources such as oil and gas, should people be looking for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

As the world population is booming, the need for non-renewable fossil fuels is increasing day-by-day. As a result, energy companies have started searching for fuels in unexplored parts of the earth such as Antarctica, since they have already utilised a sizeable amount of resources in many other places of the world where humans exist. However, in my opinion, even though there is a necessity to extract natural energy resources to contribute to the growing economy, there are detrimental effects which could affect human livelihood to a great extent.

At the outset, the benefits of tampering virgin lands are to be considered. Evidently, industrialisation and globalisation are the vital factors which favour and contribute to the betterment of sky-rocketing population. This is substantiated by the fact that digging of oil and gas in these remote areas would be essential for survival of humans on this planet in the long run. Besides, giant corporates make a huge revenue by handling and controlling this energy sector with the help of state-of-the-art technological advances.

Nevertheless, the dark side of vanishing such fresh, unexplored natural environment alarms ecologists and scientists. This can be seen from the fact that global warming poses a perennial threat to our mother nature, which is caused due to melting of glaciers in the Arctic regions because of disturbance made to ecosystem by oil firms in those areas. Therefore, there has been an ecological catastrophe which could turn our earth into a worst place to live in the near future.

To conclude, after analysing both pros and cons of destroying untouched natural places, it is true that the disadvantages far outbalance the advantages, hence I assert that it is time for humans to quit exploiting non-renewable energy resources and move towards alternative sources of energy.