Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic growth and pollution are big problems in many cities. Consequently, the price of petrol is risen in order to solve them. While some people think that it is the best way, others disagree with that. Therefore, I firmly believe that there are some solutions to fix the troubles.

The increasing of the price of petrol is important to reduce the growing of traffic and pollution because citizen will think more to buy a vehicle. Indonesia, for example, has increased the cost of petrol about IDR2,000 and then its citizen go out rarely as long as it is necessary. As a result, the amount of pollution will decrease and the traffic growth will decrease as well. All in all, it is obviously essential to reduce the use of traffic and the production of pollution by rising the price of petrol.

On the other hand, many people do not think that it is a good idea to rise the cost of petrol thanks to several reasons. First of all, if the price of petrol is increased, the price of food also will be risen because it is impossible to move the food without transportation. Also, the cost of public transportation will be increased because the transportation uses petrol. Because of this, many people complain, especially people who live under poverty line, because it must be difficult for them.

In conclusion, it is evident that despite the trend gives some benefits to solve traffic growth and pollution, increasing the cost of petrol will result in some negative effects. However, government can choose either solutions such as increasing the tax of vehicle or introduce a regulation about the use of transportation. It is imperative that government also should select the most effective solution which does not influence poor people life.