Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

With the economic prosperity, a severity of increasing traffic and contamination matters have been seen during the past decades. Undeniably, some measures should be taken to tackle these problems. Some people consider increasing the price of petrol is the best option, while other are just take this as one of methods feasible to be carried out.

It is manifest that there are many measurements could be taken rather than just rising the price of petrol. First of all, from my perspective, developing public transportation system is the most efficient way to address the root causes of traffic and pollution problems. Admittedly, the increasing using of personal vehicles leads to the consequences of proliferation of contamination and traffic congestion in urban areas. Beijing is a especially good example for this. The advancement of public transportation has relieved these matters to a great extent. Further, increasing the cost of using private cars, such as parking fee, is another available method which can be taken into consideration seriously. For instance, in some big cities worldwide, such as London and Beijing, parking expenditure, specifically in central areas, is extremely high which is beyond our expectations. Additionally, some incentive measures, such as low cost of taking buses or the subway, are considerably prevalent in some cities.

There is no doubt that increasing the price of petrol has some impacts on using vehicles. However, personally, I believe that there are always some better ways to be chosen.

By way of conclusion, I would contend that rising the petrol price is one way to be taken for the sake of traffic and pollution matters. However, others, such as developing public transportation system and increasing the cost of using vehicles are more practical and more efficient. Considering the seriousness of these matters, it would be a priority we should resolved in a long period.