It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought close together. Include any relevant information from your experience.

It is true, that nowadays family bonds are not as close as in the past. There are definite reasons, which I am going to consider .

On the one hand, people don't love in large families consisting of 3 to 4 generations, as they used to be. We all strive for better living conditions, higher salary and greater freedom. As for teenagers, they can not wait to leave their parents' nests to be more independent. They are tired of their mothers and fathers' supervision and control.

Moreover, they are sure they know absolutely everything about life.In their opinion, their peers sound too conservative and old-fashioned. Understandingly, that life in crowded cities is very different. If young people want to succeed in life, they have to work much. The harder they work, the less time they have left for their families and friends.

On the other hand, we all need understanding, compassion and support. Parents are people who love us unconditionally, no matter how successful we are. We can be responsible workers, grateful children and sincere friends at the same time. I think, we all miss more than we get because of it.

We all have to remember about our families and show how much we care about them. It is not necessarily to spend lots of time or money on that. For example, a nice postcard with touching wishes or a short phone call can make a huge difference. With modern ways of communication, there are no excuses for not writing or calling your relatives. For instance, I call my mother and sister daily.

Overall, family relationships are becoming more distant. If continue like that, we might soon become total strangers and gradually forget about our roots.