Kelud as One of the Dangerous Mountains in the World

Kelud is a volcano located in East Java in Indonesia and it is known as one of the largest eruption throughout its history. Kelud is the most active volcano in Indonesia and last eruption on February 13, 2014. For some reason, many people argue that kelud is a dangerous mountain in the world.

The first reason, it causes the history of Kelud Mountain. Since the 15th century, Kelud had erupted in 1586 and 1926 and had claimed more than 15,000 lives. In the later 20th century, Kelud was erupted in 1901, 1919, 1951, 1966, and 1990. Therefore, this mountain range was recorded as active potential eruption in the relatively short intervals between 9 and 25 years. Entering the 21th century, the mountain erupted in 2007, 2010, and 2014. This change in frequency is due to the formation of a lava plug in the mouth of the crater. All of these make a volcano harmful for human beings. The eruption is like a respite from the characteristic eruption of Kelud volcano that is usually explosive, including the current eruption. In 2007, only effusive eruption, leading to the lava dome in the middle of what was once the location of the Crater Lake Kelud.

The second reason, it causes the geographic location of the Kelud Mountain. The mountain located in the border among Kediri, Blitar and Malang district, approximately 27 km east of Kediri center. Kelud has a height of 1,731 meters above sea level. This volcano has the characteristic of the explosive eruptions and it was formed of the process of the plate bent. So, being erupted, the mountain will produce of a shift in the plates or changes on these locations. The drift can lead to several other mountains around the Kelud Mountain become active. All of these make the most dangerous mountain of all.

To sum up, the main reason why Kelud dangerous is because of the geographic location and the history that has been passed of Kelud Mountain.