More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It is true that the number of people who decide to leave their village and live in cities to improve their quality of life is increasing. However, life in cities do not always easy as there are problems that urban people have to face. I believe that governments have the capacity to make urban life better by encouraging people to have more balance life.

Admittedly, there are several issues that people must tackle to survive in cities. Firstly, despite more job opportunities are available, everything is expensive due to resource scarcity. For example, the price of house rent in Malang city is twice as high as the living cost of a family in a rural area. Secondly, working life in cities is noticeable competitive compared to the working life in rural areas, so that the employers demand more intense concentration and the pressure in the workplace is higher. Finally, urban life means fewer social interactions as each individual tends to busy taking care of his or her own business. The pressure from the workplace and the impact of having no friends who care, together with financial demand are a perfect combination to develop a difficult situation.

In my view, governments are able to reduce the impact of the above issues by providing opportunities for urban people to release their tension. Promoting more social activities, such as marathon competition, will certainly help people to have more social connections and encourage them to draw their attention from their jobs. In addition, building more parks with a free playground for children is a way for government facilitating their poor citizen to have alternative recreational destinations. Finally, governments may help their citizen by establishing citizen counseling service to help people coping with the pressure of urban life. These actions will help their citizen to have a happier life.

To sum up, living in urban can be stressful for some people, however government can help them to deal with the stress by providing facilities and organizing activities to deal with the tension.