One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true to say that, people nowadays are living longer. Which is attributed to the progress in the medical services. Presently, a proportion of people believe that, this trend has positive aspects more than the negative sides. While others ponder that, this phenomenon has more drawbacks than benefits. Here, I would like to support the former view, due to many plausible reasons.

Multifarious points shore up the former opinion. First and foremost, when people are living longer they will enjoy their life more. In other words, as a result of that, the old generations have more time to spend with their families and friends. Thus, they will relish their life with plenty of joy and pleasure. What is more,the country as a whole can benefit from old experienced people. For example, Teachers, Engineers and Doctors. All of these jobs are lucrative and important for society, and the people are actually becoming more professional when they are spending long time in these kinds of jobs. Also the younger generations will ultimately get benefit in their career from old professional people.

On the other hand, some people contradict with previous argument. They believe that increasing life span of the masses will affect the economy of a nation. To be specific, when people live longer, this will put extra burden on the national budget. In fact senior citizens are usually need more care such as, medical and financial aids. Moreover, very old people are more susceptible to various types of diseases. Thus, they need special care and hospitals to care for them. As a result, this will exhaust country resources as well as manpower facilities.

To recapitulate, undoubtedly, that increasing the life expectancy of the people is a boon and bane. But, still, I believe that the pros of this happening is outweighing its cons.