Over the past few decades, international travel has become more affordable and many people now choose overseas holidays. As a result, tourism is becoming a profitable industry in many countries. However, despite the benefits, tourism can also create problems.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism?

This is a universally acknowledged fact that due to the increase in airline business, many airline companies are competing among each and others; consequently providing cheaper airfares to the customer. Undeniably, by taking the advantages of the discounted airfares, nowadays, more travelers are travelling to overseas. Some people hold the opinion that this will boost the tourism industry business; whereas others have conflicting views. While, in my viewpoint this fact has its own benefits and ill effects, which I will try to enunciate below.

To begin with, undoubtedly whenever tourists travel to another country, they would get a change to know different cultures, customs, rules and regulations of that country. They often share their experiences with their friends and family. For example, one of my friends went to Japan and he was blissful to see the strict traffic rules and regulations. After coming back, he shared these kinds of experiences with me. Apparently, tourism industry can boost any country economy and also help in providing employment to local population. For instance, large hotels and restaurants often recruit local people to cater their business needs, definitely because of the increase in the number of tourists; more support staffs would be required. Furthermore, as tourist buy souvenirs and gifts manufactured by local people, this brings foreign currency and provide business to these shopkeepers .Therefore, tourism is becoming a profitable industry in many countries. On the contrary, one cannot forget about ill effects.

Undeniably,if a tourist who is suffering from a malady is travelling to another country. This can raise a risk of spreading that illness in the destination country. For example, Ebola was spread by one of the tourists who had traveled to West African country and very soon that dangerous disease was spread in many parts of the world. Another detrimental effect of tourism is in the increase of terrorist activity, as travel becomes affordable, more terrorist are travelling from one country to another.

To recapitulate, indubitably, by looking at the above facts tourism has its own advantages and disadvantages. If certain measures are being taken, then ill effects can be controlled. In my viewpoint, tourism gives valuable opportunity to learn about different cultures; therefore, it should be encouraged.