In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recently in many countries around the world, there are increasing rate of health hazards, which are probably due to consuming fast food. Presently, a proportion of people believe that, governments should put taxes on the fast food. While others contradict with above statement. Here, I would like to account for both the views with my own perception.

Multifarious points shore up the former view. First and foremost, it is commonly agreed that fast and junk food are unhealthy and causing a lot of diseases. To be more specific, in many cases the fast food are prepared with a low quality ingredients, and also preservatives are usually added to the fast food. Therefore, eating too much fast food strongly related to serious health issues such as, obesity, heart problems and so on. What is more, imposing tax on fast food could be positive to the whole society. In other words, the taxes money can be used by the government in other public services, such as, improving health care, building new roads and so on.

On the other hand, some people disagree with previous opinion. Firstly, in this jet age of 21st century, people are busy and have no time to prepare their own food. Thus, the fast food is a solution for many families nowadays as both parents are often work in order to earn bread and butter for their families. Moreover, people are usually paying tax to the government, so imposing more tax is considered as extra burden to the large number of masses. However, instead of imposing tax on fast food, government could implement regulations in order to reduce the risk of fast food on the health of people.

To recapitulate, both the views have their own significance. We can neither support nor go against either of sides. But, still, I believe that imposing a higher tax on fast food is a step in the right way and should be taken by every country.