In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is goes without saying that today many students decide to rest one year after graduation. In the most cases they spend this time for travelling or find a job. Others try to start their education immediately. In my opinion, both these points of views are important to consider.

To begin with, the fact that students prefer to have a break between finishing high school and starting university studies has some advantages. First, travelling young people gain new experience. They are able to communicate with different people, practice the language skills. They tend to be more independent that is very important in the future studying. Next positive factor is that students can find a work and try to earn their own money. Consequently, young people recognize that they mature. For instance, in some countries graduates are encouraged to work or travel for a year after high school.

On the other hand, some people think that students do not have to miss a whole year and start college or university after graduation. This is justified because young people are still in the habit of studying. One year is a long term and students could lose their study skills and sense of discipline that they developed at school. For example, missing a year students lose their time a benefits of getting an education and starting their career.

Personally I think that graduates should not miss a year of education. This point of view has lots of benefits for young people. However, the decision of what to do after high school can be difficult one. Therefore, missing a year can have a positive influence for thinking about future profession.

In conclusion I would like to say that both these views have advantages and disadvantages for graduates. The decision should be based on what is the best for each student.