Some experts beleive that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There are specialists who think that teaching a foreign language in primary school is more beneficial than in secondary school. Personally, I beleive that this is rather advanatgeous since the bulk of learning occurs in early childhood while kids are still curious. On the contrary though, we can't deny that there are also drawbacks to this. This essay will attempt to further discuss both stated arguments.

To start with, experts in learning say that a child's brain is compared to a sponge that absorbs everything there is to learn. Because they are naturally curious, motivation to gain knowledge isn't a hindrance. Moreover, they are at a stage where they think highly of authorities such as teachers thus oftentimes, they don't object against education. Additionally, young adults tend to reason out things which children don't. This includes the thinking that "Learning French won't be of any use to me in the future" and it happens in reality.

On the other hand,a disadvantage of learning a foreign language early is that it is difficult for kids to concentrate. Their focus is more in playing and having fun but this could be addressed by teaching the language in an interacting and interesting way. Another thing is that, it could be too much for a child alongside learning math and science in their mother tongue. But if some kids can do it, the rest could as well.

To summarize, i beleive that learning a language early is advantageous than later in life. This is because young kids have better abilities and they won't need further encouraging. Learning is innate to them. Sure there are drawbacks to this but i think they are manageable.