Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

In the most of countries in the world learning a foreign language has a great role in a verity of ways as it is required to be taught at schools. However, there are some representatives who consider that a foreign language ought to be taught at primary schools on behalf of secondary schools whereas some don’t contend this concept explicitly. Hence, the following essay will delve both merits and drawbacks of whether a foreign language should be taught at the primary schools.

Firstly, it is an undeniable fact that children are supposed to know their first language before learning the second one at primary school. To be more clear, it is difficult for children to learn another language if they have lack of knowledge with respect to native one. Furthermore, as a result of learning two languages at primary school, children can not construct good knowledge relative to both languages.

Secondly, beginning to learn a new language at primary school makes children have difficulty as they can not do other subjects completely. For example, there are several subjects at school that children should study. Therefore, they do not have enough time to do these if they are required to learn a foreign language at primary school.

On the other hand it seems that primary school, instead of secondary school, is acceptable for children to learn a foreign language as they could be had a particular perspective from childhood. For instance, by learning a new language children can acquire culture, habit, behavior of people who this language belongs to.

By way of conclusion, learning a foreign language at primary school is acceptable for both views as the pros of it can enlarge children’s perspective and the cons do not make them improve their knowledge on one language. Hence, neither advantages nor disadvantages can take place precedence over each other.