Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the role of university. While there are some good arguments in favour of the contention that the main purpose of university is to prepare students to be successful in careers, I believe that individual students and societies can benefit from it in much broader ways.

On the one hand, I agree that studying at university opens avenues for better employment. Nowadays, academic qualifications are required in many professions. For example, it is impossible to become teachers, lawyers or doctors without having the relevant degree. As a result, university graduates have access to more and better job opportunities. In addition, the job market is increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Hence, young people with relevant qualifications from university will be able to compete.

Nevertheless, I believe that the university environment allows students to make special friends. Provided that many universities not only accept local students, but also take overseas students, it may lead to students being able to expand their networks, and horizons. For example, a local student will have the chance to get along with other students of various nationalities, and learn foreign languages and different cultures from them. Therefore, it is beneficial for local students to interact with international students, and vice versa.

A further aspect of benefits is that university graduates can make a considerable contribution to societies. More specifically, when these students graduate, many of them will work in manifold professional fields such as law, accounting, education or medicine, and a country needs these qualified workers in order to prosper. As a result, societies will gain the contribution that graduates can make to the economy.

In conclusion, university education certainly plays its role in assisting students in getting prestigious jobs, but I tend to believe that there are other factors that are more beneficial for individuals and societies.