Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society

Nowadays, most of the people are attending university. While some people are of the opinion that university education prepare students for an excellent job opportunity, other think that it has a broader benefit for both individuals and its community.

It is undoubtedly true that thousands of students who complete their higher education are always at the attraction of large corporation. For instance, Ernst and Young, PricewaterCoppers and IBM are some of the reputed companies where university graduates are most likely to be recruited in compared to non graduates. Furthermore, there is a high chance of promotion for a university graduate in a workplace. Therefore, it can be clearly seen that objective of these higher institute is to provide student a better job as well as a secure future.

However, the benefit of university education is not only limited to having a prosperous jobs and career. There are also other benefits associated with it. Such education is believed to broaden the horizon of people thinking. For example, in many developing countries, a university graduate is thought to have a mature mindset where they are involved in dealing with ethical problems in societies. Similarly, a country with an excessive number of graduates can be recognized as a best place to live and study. This may attract vast number of students from overseas which is economically advantageous for the country.

To sum up, although, I hold the opinion that the main objective of a university education is to find a better job opportunities, it is also true that other invaluable benefits such institute offers to societies should not be underestimated