Some people believe that teachers should have responsibility to teach students what is right and wrong and good behaviours. But others claim that teachers should teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The discussion about whether teachers should teach students good behaviour and distinguishability is of concern for many parents. Some claim that teachers have the responsibility to help students to judge right or wrong while some others emphasise the importance of academic subjects. As for me, I think teachers ought to do both jobs.

Those who believe that it is the teachers’ role to give moral lessons hold the following reasons. Firstly, children are sent to school to learn how to become a good civilian. Being a qualified member, people should be equipped with the ability to identify the right from the wrong. Otherwise, they can be misled due to temptation and even end up with crime commitments. Secondly, cultivating children’s good behaviours ensure school children are able to get along with others. For example, it is common to find that some students like to slam doors or being desensitised to their parents or classmates, which may result in family conflicts or peer problems. Once these kids are instilled with polite manners and courteous behaviours, they will not have problems dealing with social problems.

However, on no account should we ignore the values of academic subjects. To start with, a strong academic background is a golden pass in the job market. As the current society is extremely competitive, holding a good academic transcript will entitle people to be an ideal job candidate in the future, thereby allowing them survives in the society. Besides, delivering a wide range of knowledge to children helps them to develop thinking skills. Although studying some school subjects such as maths and science is difficult and time- consuming, students will enhance their calculating skills or problem-solving abilities which are the essential capabilities for further education.

To sum up, I believe all teachers ought to deliver academic knowledge and provide guidance of what is the right and wrong which are important for children’s development.