Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Others have mentioned that for people to be healthier, there should be more sports facilities. However, there are also people who think that this won't achieve much and that other solutions are needed. Personally, I agree with the latter argument because health is a much more complicated issue than just mere exercising by playing sports.

To start with, having more sports facilities in the community won't be of any use if people aren't using them in the first place. People should be motivated first and are committed to achieve a healthy lifestyle for change to happen. As a student nurse, I've seen these things happen. An unhealthy patient walked in the hospital and blamed everything on laziness even if he had a free gym membership. In saying this, increase of facilities should only happen according to the demand of majority. Otherwise, public money will only go to waste.

On the other hand, given the above-mentioned rationale, I agree with some people regarding the need of bringing in other measures to address the issue. And the most effective way to implement first is health education and dissemination. Because this is commonly lacking, and if people are informed of the benefits and dangers of unhealthy lifestyle then they would be more motivated. Moreover, authorities should be active in making sure that foods are indeed healthy as companies advertise.

In summary. the number of sports facilities itself won't guarantee an improvement in peoples' health unless they have the right attitude to address it. Additionally, I think that together with the help of authorities and the knowledge of health workers, the dream of a healthier community isn't that far away.