Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people ravel to.

How true is this statement? what can tourist and government do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local culture?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience

The government of many countries have developed tourism for the last two decades. The tourism improves economical of countries. For example, in Indonesia, many tourism regions growth fast. However, as result of tourism, sometimes, many regions become worse than other places. This essay will give us answer, why does this happens?

Tourists influence original culture. They come from different countries. Their coming to some countries, brings their culture to the country destination. Sometimes, the culture is really opposite by the origin. Moreover, tourist usually stands with their culture. This is because the local people try to provide the same environment that is like tourist’s origin country. This makes many local people are influenced by their culture and finally leave their identity. For instance, many youths in Bali, sometimes, try to imitate the western’s naked culture.

Furthermore, tourists also make crowded situation. It is hard to find the quite road around Kuta Beach and other roads in Bali. There are many tourists on the roads. Sometimes many traffic jams happen because of them. Some parts of the road are changing to be shops that sell souvenirs for tourists. In the night, they move to bars, then, sometimes, make trouble with drunken activity.

In other hands, visitors still support economics sector of people in Bali. They give more knowledge to local people about difference. Unfortunately, their lessons make local people become like them and leave their tradition. This is because not only local people underestimate their local culture but also vacationer, usually, force to stand with their culture. They give little attention to local habit. This makes Bali loses its polite identity if we compare to other regions.

Overall, countries need tourism to improve their economics. But, they have to control the application of obligation about tourists. This will reduce many negative effects of tourism. Also, Tourists have to remember that they are guests, so they have to obey and appreciate the rule.