Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.

How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Tourism is most likely popular activity at the moment. It generates a great deal of discussion as some people argue that the tourism has given detrimental effects on the destination country. It is as the environmental condition is decreased by the tourists. While it is undeniable cause and untold damage to local environment, I am personally convinced that travelers can do several things such as becoming an Eco-traveler, respecting local culture and traditions and Frugality in electricity use to reduce the negative effect on local tourism and environmental.

Admittedly, Tourism activities can give a drawback for a country. It occurs when traveling place is visited by tourists who damage the natural surroundings. The evidence of this case can be seen that environmental condition in Genting Highlands, one of traveling places in Malaysia, is damaged by a great number of visitors who visit the place throughout this year. As a result, an overwhelming majority of the land have erosion at the moment as the Genting’s visitors always litter the place regardless of the risk. Consequently, Malaysian government has spent over two million dollars to overcome the problem. It is clear that tourists have given disadvantage effects on the country which traveler visit to, although they actually can do a few things that can harmless to the nature when they holiday in one place.

Apparently, the travelers can do several activities which can decrease the harmful effect on environment and social culture. Firstly, the visitors who always visit new places for traveling should become an Eco-green traveler. For straightforward example, Eco-traveled people should not contaminate the water as it can impact on the nature surround them. Furthermore, they should use less plastic which can lead to deforestation. Secondly, people should be respect on the culture where they visit for holiday. Even though the local tradition is completely unusual for them, they should not disturb the local population. Lastly, the tourists can use frugally the electricity when they holiday. It can keep the environmental as the activity can save more energy. Therefore, those activities play an important role to keep tourism places from detriment.

In conclusion, traveling activities can damage environmental in a country, while several number of activities can reduce the damaging effects on local culture and environmental. Where possible government should control the tourism activities as it can anticipate the worst impact of the activity.