Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of whether men and women are suitable for different jobs is of concern for many people. Some suggest that the gender of job applicants should be considered when selecting talents while others disagree. As for me, I do not agree the former.

Those who believe that men and women should occupy different types of work hold the following reasons. Firstly, men and women have a physical difference. It is commonly acknowledged that women cannot compete with men in strong physique. Many physical demanding jobs such as army men or policemen are dominated by men, rather than a weak and slim lady. Thus, women are more preferred in professions like nurses and teachers. Secondly, women generally focus more on their families than their careers. When female enter the job market, they favour a position which has a regular timetable so that they can pick up their children after work and cook a lovely meal for their family members.

However, there are opposing voices. To start with, it has proved that some women are capable of doing anything that men can. For example, it is not surprise to find that there are women work in the mining sectors or military force which were traditionally appropriate for muscular men. Besides, some claim that sex discrimination should not exist in any ways. As employees selection should only base on skills and abilities, the gender of a candidate cannot deter a female from pursuing her career achievement, thereby benefiting the position distribution in a fair way.

To sum up, although men and women excel in different areas, it is unreasonable to conclude that certain jobs are only suitable for men. I believe that a person’s physical and intellectual capabilities, instead of gender, should influence his or her career choice.