Some people think only reward for student with best academic result. Other believe it is important to reward to students show improvement.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Rewarding has been a good approach to motivate students. However, It is argued that students who have best academic result can only be rewarded while others hold different opinion. In my perspective, I think both arguments are reasonable and will elaborate below.

There are certainly some reasons of rewarding only students who have best academic results. One of the reasons is that to maintain the attitude of studying. Due to having outstanding performance at school, top students generally feel no competitive in class and may stop learning. Rewarding therefore for top students is a motivation to keep them studying. Another reason is next level goals. In most cases, top students have mastered most of the basic study skills. Setting new difficult goals and clear rewards on the objectives allows them to try hard to achieve it, which can also accumulate new experiences.

However, there are opposing voices. To begin with, average students would show more interests on their study. Ordinary students do not have the talents and skills that elite students have but hard work. By simply rewarding average students on their improvement, they generally feel happy because it means something for them such as trophies. As a result, ordinary students would likely to participate class discussions most of the time. Apart from this, they may become one of the talented students in school. With the rewards from parents and teachers, students naturally feel encouraged. As a result, average students would put more efforts on their study than elite students.

In conclusion, although rewards can maintain top students study performance, I still think that rewarding for average students are more important because they are more likely to show improvement on their study.