Some people warn that the era of the silver screen is coming to an end and that people will eventually lose interest in going to the cinema.

Do you agree or disagree with this view?

In today’s modern world, watching movie has become one of the leisure activities for most people nowadays. However, there are a handful of people who assert that people will soon spend less time watching movie in the cinema which I disagree with.

There are several factors why I do not think cinema will soon become an abundant place to visit in the near future. To begin, people in the twenty-first century prefer to go to cinema due to the reason that they want to spend their precious time with their family or friends so as to strengthen their relationships. It is one of the way that people these days, especially the teenagers use to socialise with others. By watching a movie with friends in a cinema, they can exchange their thoughts and give comments about the movie that they watched with their friends which indirectly opening up an avenue for them to understand their peers better. As a consequence, it is not uncommon to see most of the youngsters actually plan to go to cinema during their gatherings nowadays.

Furthermore, although there are numerous ways to download movies from internet following the development of technology, most people still choose to go to cinema because the sound equipment in cinema are more advanced. They like to immerse themselves in the movie as they think the story plot will be more thrilling and it can only be experienced in the cinema which is surrounded by excellent sound effects. According to the result of a recent research conducted in Columbia, most people find watching movie at home is rather boring and is not as interesting as in cinema. Thus, I believe there will not be less people to visit to cinema in the near future.

In conclusion, I am not convinced by the argument that people will ultimately lose interest in going to the cinema as there are evidences which show that there is an increasing trend in the number of visitor to the cinema. I believe that cinema will not be faded out, in return, it will continue to flourish in the decades to come.