In some societies, it is increasingly common to try to achieve good health and fitness through physically demanding sports, special diets, or preventative medicine – conventional or alternative. Some people, however, believe that the best way to stay fit and healthy is simply to lead a normal life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The growing attention that has recently been focused on the efforts to achieve a good health has led to a variety of different wellness strategies. Nowadays, western societies seem to be more and more focused on physical health than in the past and therefore we can run the risk of having an extremist approach to the matter. For this reason, some people believe that a health organism can be easily the result of a simple and normal life. I strongly believe that when we talk about health, o wellness in general, we should have a balanced approach, in order to avoid harsh behaviours, which can lead to damage our health.

First of all, we have to consider the recent peak in home-fitness exercises in the past three years. For instance, names as Jillian Michaels and Shaun-T are very well known among home-fitness users, as they are probably the two most common home-fitness trainers in this moment. Moreover, the growing access to the internet has led to a spread of self-made tutors who give fitness and health advices without a solid scientific background, and this can easily be the most dangerous attitude.

In contrast, we have the other face of the medal to take under consideration too. As the ancient Latins said: “mens sana in corpore sano” is probably the best way to achieve a good state of health. We do not really need special diets and breath-taking sports to be fit; we could simply eat healthy food in a balanced all-inclusive diet and practise some physical activity in a moderate but constant way. We furthermore need to have always in mind what is said by a popular proverb: “to prevent is better than to cure”.

In conclusion, I strongly suggest that our behaviours should be the most balanced possible. We should take the best from both attitude, the most active one, as well as the most holistic approach. Everything, in my opinion, can be a damage or a healthy source for our body, the secret is never to abuse of it.