Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflex the power of advertising not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. Which extend do you agree or disagree?

Whether or not thanks to the effect of advertising, favourable consumer goods have a high sales has provoked a controversy. Some people say that producers manipulate buyers’ mind to purchase goods by advertising while the others claim products’ quality is the important reason why it is selected. From my perspective, I’m more inclined to the latter view owing to the following reasons.

At the beginning, people buy goods due to their demand. When customer need something to satisfy their desire, they buy products to do it. For instance, if we are thirsty, we want to buy water. And when people want to travel, they need transports. Second, this high sales of products depends on customer’s budget. Only because people’s account has enough money do they are available to buy merchandises. In a report of Vietnam government, as a result of ten years development, Gross domestic product per person in Vietnam doubled in duration from 2001 to 2010, followed by a high sales of imported luxury cars.

Nevertheless, advertising on media exaggerates the information of products. Distorting the truth, many producers lie their customers to increase their turn-over. However, hardly can a bad quality goods survive in competitive markets. No sooner do patrons recognize a unscrupulous product than they reject to use this product. A number of China’s goods is the examples of customer’s choice when they are proscribed in many areas in the world. In addition, environment and weather play as significant role in customers’ selection. Not only weather in every region but the climate change is the cause of various requirement. I still recall a story that due to cold weather, demand for electricity in America for heating dramatically rise in 2002. An amount of heating machines was also sold quickly.

In summary, although advertising is one of factors to sell product, quality, people’s budget and environment are more important factors which decide the high sales of goods.