What are the causes of water shortages? Please also offer some solutions to this problem.

Give some reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the development of international trade, more and more countries have had the scarcity of water sources. This has become the most concerned issue for most nations in the world. From my view-point, there are some reasons to be indicated and some cost-expensive solutions will be suggested to protect water sources.

First of all, industrial zones and poisonous pollutants are the main culprit to contaminate water resources. It is clear that water wastes flow from factories in the industrial zones which make rivers become more and more polluted. This makes a huge contribution to the reduction of clean water resources to meet demands for people’s life. Moreover, chemicals have been originated from households and other human activities to be regarded as a main reason for water pollution. For example, in Vietnam, one a third people who are living in remote areas not being enough water to use due to industrial development making water resources be polluted.

Another reason is that there has been a rapid growth of population in recent years leading to the serious shortages of water resources. It is obvious that overpopulation is an undeniable cause because the more people live on the Earth, the more water there will be. The requirement has become higher than ever before in both cities and mountainous areas. Therefore, water resources are the hotly debated issue between countries at the international conferences.

To my mind, to deal with the shortages of water resources, it is crucial to raise awareness of the people to protect water resources from pollution. What is more, the issue of erecting more dams plays an important role in improving the current scenario because dams will detain the surface of rainwater flowing from the mountains and prevent rainwater straight into the sea. Strict national policies should be adopted to punish those who contaminate water resources to be an effective way to reduce water pollution.